B C D H I L M

Media Queries

Graphic with examples of CSS media queries

What are media queries?

Media queries are part of the Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) and are used to adapt the layout of a website or application to different devices and screen sizes. They allow a website to be displayed differently on a desktop computer than on a smartphone or tablet.

What are media queries used for?

Media queries are used to enable responsive web design. With the help of media queries, the style and structure of a website can be adapted depending on the screen size, resolution and other properties of the device. This ensures that the website is optimally displayed on all devices and offers a good user experience.

Examples of media queries

One example of the use of media queries is the adjustment of the font size. On a large screen, a larger font size can be used for headings, while on a small screen the font size is reduced in order to utilise the space more efficiently.

Another example is the customisation of the navigation. On a desktop computer, the navigation can be displayed horizontally, while on a smartphone the navigation is arranged vertically to make optimum use of the limited space on the screen.

By using media queries, developers can ensure that their websites and applications look good and are user-friendly on different devices and screen sizes.

Related Glossare

B C D H I L M

Media Queries

Grafik mit Beispielen für CSS Media Queries

Was sind Media Queries?

Media Queries sind ein Teil der Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) und dienen dazu, das Layout einer Webseite oder einer Anwendung an verschiedene Geräte und Bildschirmgrößen anzupassen. Sie ermöglichen es, dass eine Webseite auf einem Desktop-Computer anders dargestellt wird als auf einem Smartphone oder Tablet.

Wofür werden Media Queries verwendet?

Media Queries werden verwendet, um das Responsive Webdesign zu ermöglichen. Mit Hilfe von Media Queries kann der Stil und die Struktur einer Webseite je nach Bildschirmgröße, Auflösung und anderen Eigenschaften des Geräts angepasst werden. So wird sichergestellt, dass die Webseite auf allen Geräten optimal dargestellt wird und eine gute Benutzererfahrung bietet.

Beispiele für Media Queries

Ein Beispiel für die Verwendung von Media Queries ist die Anpassung der Schriftgröße. Auf einem großen Bildschirm kann für Überschriften eine größere Schriftgröße verwendet werden, während auf einem kleinen Bildschirm die Schriftgröße reduziert wird, um den Platz effizienter zu nutzen.

Ein weiteres Beispiel ist die Anpassung der Navigation. Auf einem Desktop-Computer kann die Navigation horizontal angezeigt werden, während auf einem Smartphone die Navigation vertikal angeordnet wird, um den begrenzten Platz auf dem Bildschirm optimal zu nutzen.

Durch die Verwendung von Media Queries können Entwickler sicherstellen, dass ihre Webseiten und Anwendungen auf verschiedenen Geräten und Bildschirmgrößen gut aussehen und benutzerfreundlich sind.

Verwandte Glossare